Mr. Miguel’s Garden/El Cafetal del Sr. Miguel

By Jojo

While we were in the mountains in northern Puebla, we went to Mr. Miguel’s garden. It was outside of town and we had to walk like half an hour down hill.

When we got there we walked around and explored the place where the garden was. All the places where the coffee plants grow were under the trees so it looked like a jungle.

We found weird trees and plants. There was a squash thing, but Mr. Miguel told us that they don’t eat it. My dad threw it and it broke into pieces. There was an orange tree with thorns on it that were a few inches long.

It was hot and I started sweating. I bothered a bunch of fire ants and that was a dumb thing to do! I thought it was a pile of dirt, so I hit it with my stick but then a bunch of ants came out and they climbed up my stick. Mr. Miguel told me they were fire ants, so I threw my stick away.

It took us a long time to get back up the hill. We saw vultures circling above us, like they were waiting for us to die. My dad said he wouldn’t take us back to Mr. Miguel’s garden next time because we were so tired and Gugui and I were complaining when we climbed back up the hill.

Escrito por Lloyo

Durante nuestro tiempo en la Sierra Norte de Puebla, nosotros fuimos al cafetal del Señor Miguel, afuera del pueblo. Tuvimos que caminar como media hora bajando.

Cuando llegamos a su cafetal lo exploramos. Todas sus plantas de café estaban debajo de los árboles y el lugar parecía como una selva.

Vimos árboles y plantas raras. Había una planta con un fruto que parecía calabacita, pero el Señor Miguel nos dijo que no se come. Mi papá la tiró contra unas rocas y se rompió en muchos pedazos. Vimos un árbol de naranjas con espinas muy largos.

Hacía calor y yo comencé a sudar. Yo molesté a unos hormigueros y ¡éso fue una mala idea! Yo pensé que fueron montones de arena. Las hormigas se subieron a mi palo. El Señor Miguel me dijo que esas hormigas pican duro y tuve que botar mi palo.

Nos tomó mucho tiempo subir de regreso. Mientras subíamos, vimos sopilotes volando en círculo sobre nosotros…parecían como estaban esperando que nos muriéramos. Mi papá dijo que la próxima vez no nos llevaría al cafetal del Señor Miguel porque estuvimos muy cansados tratando de subir y porque Gugui y yo nos quejamos mucho.

3 responses »

  1. JoJo Glad you threw away the stick when the fire ants climbed on it. This was a good piece on Mr. Miguel’s garden. I enjoyed going with you, I would never make that walk to it in real life, ha ha.
    Kathleen in Latvia

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Catching Up | This and That

Leave a comment